The current St. Lucie County was created in 1905 from the southern part of Brevard County. St. Lucie County is now a certified "Green County," joining the ranks of only five other Florida counties to receive this prestigious recognition. It is home to the Oxbow Eco Center and the St. Lucie County Marine Center, which houses the Smithsonian Marine Station.